Dirt Road Confessional (2017)

//Dirt Road Confessional (2017)
Dirt Road Confessional (2017) 2023-01-30T14:36:06-04:00

Buy it Now on Bandcamp or iTunes!

“Dirt Road Confessional”
May 19, 2017 on Acronym Records / Universal Canada

All songs written by Jeffery Straker (SOCAN)
Except: Deliver Me & Bravery written by Jeffery Straker (SOCAN), Royal Wood (SOCAN), Lawrence K Katz (ASCAP)/What He Said Songs (ASCAP)
Walking Shoes written by Jeffery Straker (SOCAN) & Jay Semko (SOCAN)
Queen of Broken Souls written by Jeffery Straker & Karen Kosowski (SOCAN)

Producers/Engineers:  Daniel Ledwell (Something’s Gotta Give, Fool for You, Fades to Grey); Dean Drouillard (Sweet Sweet Nothings, Get What You Give1); Brad Prosko2 & Murray Pulver (Beauty in the Grey, Boom Boom, Thousand Miles Away, Walking Shoes); Lawrence K Katz2 & Royal Wood (Deliver Me, Bravery); Robyn Dell’Unto (Queen of Broken Souls)
1 1st engineer: Joshua Van Tassel, 2nd engineer Dean Drouillard | 2 co-producer & also engineered

Recording Locations:  Something’s Gotta Give, Fool for You, Fades to Grey (Echo Lake Studio, Lake Echo Nova Scotia); Sweet Sweet Nothings, Get What You Give (Dream Date Studio and Hepbourne Lab, Toronto ON); Beauty in the Grey, Boom Boom, Thousand Miles Away, Walking Shoes (Touchwood Studios, Regina SK); Deliver Me, Bravery (Argyle Studio, Los Angeles California); Queen of Broken Souls (Beaconsfield Ave, Toronto ON). Backing vocals on Deliver Me recorded by Dean Drouillard at Hepbourne Lab. Backing vocals (Erin Prop) on Walking Shoes recorded by Murray Pulver at Signpost Music. Steel guitar, banjo, electric guitar on Queen of Broken Souls recorded by Aaron Goldstein at Baldwin Street Sound.

Mixed by: Daniel Ledwell (Something’s Gotta Give, Fool for You, Fades to Grey) at Echo Lake Studio; Dean Drouillard (Get What You Give) at Hepbourne Lab; Brad Prosko (Thousand Miles Away, Walking Shoes) at B-Rad Studio; Tim Abraham (Deliver Me, Bravery, Beauty in the Grey, Boom Boom, Sweet Sweet Nothings) at The Hive; Stew Crookes (Queen of Broken Souls)

Strings on Get What You Give, arranged/recorded by Drew Jurecka
Horns on Sweet Sweet Nothings, arranged/recorded by Bryden Baird
Horns on Fool for You & Fades to Grey arranged/recorded by Daniel Ledwell
Steel guitar on Thousand Miles Away recorded by Stephen Hinson (Nashville TN)

Mastered by: Joao Carvalho at Carvalho Mastering (Toronto ON)
Design/Layout/Typography: Christine Peters
Cover Illustration: Natasha Sasic

Track List

  • Beauty in the Grey (4:08)
  • Bravery (3:07)
  • Thousand Miles Away (4:29)
  • Boom Boom (3:06)
  • Deliver Me (3:55)
  • Sweet Sweet Nothings (3:12)
  • Something’s Gotta Give (4:14)
  • Queen of Broken Souls (5:16)
  • Fool for You (3:22)
  • Get What You Give (4:47)
  • Walking Shoes (4:13)
  • Fades to Grey (4:23)

Jeffery thanks FACTOR (Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings) and Creative Saskatchewan for the financial assistance in producing this recording